Creative studio space for local Artists, Designers and Makers in South Wales

Rachel Baber

History of
Model House

The Model House is one of Llantrisant’s most historic and beloved buildings, located in the medieval town’s Bull Ring.

Built in 1784, it was originally established as Glamorgan’s first workhouse, providing accommodation and work for the poor. It became known as the “Model House” because it aimed to promote model behaviour among its residents.

Over the years, the building has served many purposes; including a boarding house, a shop and a glove factory.

Following restoration, it reopened in 1989 as the Model House Craft and Design Centre, showcasing Welsh arts and crafts.

Today, the Model House remains an important landmark, celebrating Llantrisant’s rich history and continuing to play a valued role in the town’s cultural life - we welcome you to come and visit, to see for yourself.

Joy Saunders
A glass jar filled with woodworking and carving tools on a workshop table, with additional tools and equipment in the background.

shop local, shop small,
shop something special

A Guy Called Minty

Meet Our Residents

Meet Our Residents